Star Wars Friday


In order for me to watch Star Wars: The Phantom Menace 3D , I had to travel 3 hours in order to find an Imax theater. So believe me when I tell you it was worth the trip. All of you by now know that I love everything Star Wars; I love The Clone Wars, The Prequels, and The Originals. I had no problem with George Lucas re-releasing the movies to the big screen. I mean come on, who doesn’t want to watch Star Wars in 3D??? When you think about it, the movie was originally released in 1999 so it has been at least 13 years since we last saw it on the big screen.

Here are a few reasons why it was worth the trip:

  • The Picture was Crystal Clear.

It all just seemed so fresh and cleaned up. I saw things in the background that I wasn’t aware of before.

  •  Certain Scenes were totally AWESOME in 3D.

The Podrace and Darth Maul kicking butt scene.

  •  Great Sound Quality.

I noticed it during the podrace. It felt like a pod was hovering right next to you.

  •  Up-close Scenes

There were moments that I felt like I was standing next to Obi-Wan or Queen Amidalia.

There were parts of the movie that I didn’t see the 3D effect ( I had assumed there would be more), but over all I thought it was well done. The best part was that by re-releasing the movies, it draws in a younger generation of fans which will help keep Star Wars alive.

I have to be honest that I didn’t notice the changes George Lucas made to the film. I was so caught up in the movie that they did not stand out to me –  which is a good thing. Even if you have seen this movie a hundred times, give it a go again! It is well worth it!

Thanks Cinemark Theater in Colorado Springs, CO:

3305 Cinema Point, Colorado Springs, CO 80922

http://www.cinemark.com/theatre-detail.aspx?node_id=1569

Thanks For:

A clean theater.

Cool 3D glasses I could wear over my real glasses.

Ticket’s priced well.

Courtesy Staff.

An awesome experience!

* I’ll be back for the next one!

Star Wars News:

Kinect Star Wars Bundle: For those of you who love the Xbox ( I love me some Halo) Releasing June 1 is a Custom Star Wars Xbox console. http://games.gearlive.com/playfeed/article/kinect-star-wars-bundle-details-q112/

Wal-Mart: Just noticed a cool set of Star Wars plastic birthday cups. Hmmmm my birthday is almost here………..

Star Wars Toys: Speaking of toys here is a list I found on the web of all the latest Star Wars collectibles. (Michelle they are coming out with the At-At backpacks in June). http://gadgetbox.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/02/16/10427275-the-latest-and-craziest-star-wars-toys-and-gadgets

May The Force Be With You!

About girlsofgeek

Kristy: Star Wars is my first love I am a huge Clone Wars Fan and I do believe Han shot first. I also enjoy comics, Warehouse 13, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and well just about anything Geek. Michelle: I am a complete geek. I attend conventions, dress up at the conventions, attend midnight releases, read comic books, and love science fiction. Some of my favorites are: Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Lost, Justice League of America, The Flash, and The Big Bang Theory Girls of Geek will explore anything from science fiction, new gadgets, movies, or comics. We will also feature a "Comic Wednesday." If you're already a self proclaimed geek or just discovering your geeky side Girls of Geek will have something for you!

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Girls of Geek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

